Oh Canada…

Scenes from last night(ish): 

This past weekend, I went down to South Beach for a little stay-cation.

After a relaxing day of pool, cocktails, and sun, I decided to head home, but I was a little peckish, and wanted a little snack, so I pulled up my favorite app for when I’m on the road, Flavortown.

Yes, Flavortown.

It has never let me down; well, except for the night before, but that’s a whole different story.

Anyhoo, I see there’s a Triple D (Diners, Drive-Ins & Dive) restaurant 1/4 of a mile away, so off I go.

La Sandwicherie.

I’ve watched the episode where Guy visited this place a few times.

So, I walk up to the window, and I’m pretty sure it’s the owner who takes my order.

I order the Italian and the Frenchie, because, leftovers.

As I’m standing around, waiting for my order, I see the guy who was behind me paying with a Bank of Montreal credit card and speaking French with the owner.

(I should preface this by saying I’m wearing a red baseball hat with a white maple leaf on it)

So, I ask: Are you from Canada?

Man: I’m from Quebec.

Me: Well last time I checked…

Man: Well yes, I guess, if you put it that way. Let see guess, you’re from Ontario, but he says it in that French Canadian way “En-tarrrr-eeoo”.

Me: As a matter of fact, yes, I grew up in London.

Man: And when you’re in Montreal, do you say, “Je ne parle pas français, or I don’t speak French?” 

Me: I depends on who I speaking with. I’m nice to you until you’re not nice, then I’m not nice. 

Man: Are you going to go to the Olympics next year?

Me: No, I doubt it.

Man: Do you say “Paris” (he pronounced it like he was from Fargo, ND) or “Pah-reeeee” 

Me: I guess it depends on who I’m speaking with.

Man: You’re speaking with Stephane.

And I kid you not, the man behind the counter yells, “Stephanie” and we both turn our heads.

Man: Oh, is your name Stephanie

Me: Sometimes, but not today.

Man: (Getting upset with the little spanish guy behind the counter) My name is Stephane, not Stephanie

Me: Merci beaucoup, au revoir. 

So, I walk back to the hotel, and I go to grab my bag from the bellhop, and there are four or five guys standing there, and one of the younger guys comes up to me, and says, “Hi, how can I help you?”

Me: I just need to get my bag, as I hand him my ticket

Guy: Are you from Canada?

Me: Yes, I am? Where are you from?

Guy: Haiti

Me: Sak Pase (loosely means ‘What’s up/Hey’)

Guy: Just starts laughing and gave me a big High 5.

Moral of the story, just be nice.

Leave a comment